Hours in A Day

Time is Inevitably Congruent

Crops pile in organized containers, while an athlete blitzes to a cone. The crop-toting truck soon departs from a port, while the driver buckles into an hour-long transit excursion. The athlete pivots and pushes toward another cone not too far away, watching the score-clock count down for his hour-long individual training session. In terms of congruency, both examples show different tasks being pursued within the same amount of time. The crops and truck analogy examples the stocking and shipping of necessary crops to a potential market place. The mentions of an athlete dashing from cone to cone shows that the athlete was training his agilities, so he be shown more dominant on his playing field or court. When goals, such as physical domination or meeting a predetermined quota exists, then courses of action are enacted in order to proceed most efficiently. As the Earth turns and generations inevitably age, there remain the same hours in a day.

      Of Malice and Men

My small city has a lot of historic monuments downtown. I recently discovered a proclivity towards history as a reasoning for today's economic functions.

My small city has a lot of historic monuments downtown. I recently discovered a faint fondness for history as a reasoning for today’s economic functions.

On a trek down one of the oldest streets in my city, I was nearing the mile mark on my two mile running course. I stopped near an old creek I used to fish at as a child, near the city’s flashy Courthouse. The robust creek shimmered with the freshness of post-rain splendor. Atop of the hillside bank, I saw one of the many historic markings that flourish throughout my city’s downtown area. I remain standing composed and not yet winded from running my course. The inscription on the placard before me, revered Samuel Haycraft (I used to live on Haycraft St. so I was more inquisitive than the usual). Haycraft was a Virginian migrant to the Kentucky region. In 1779’s winter, he and his array of former Pennsylvanians and Virginians migrated to and build post in the Ky city. The story was consistent with the tales of any renown 18th Century frontier pioneer, and perhaps the inaudible narrations of the writing had a modern-day twist. The author of the informative monument inscription made lite of, hastily referring to the native people who were intruded on by these migrants, as “menace”. I thought to myself the people that came into someones land from another state referred to the Native Americans in the area as menaces; that’s not right. Then I took a look over my left should at our city’s courthouse. A lot of things that aren’t right or just, have happened in there.

A Driving Motive

Most of the time, I’m busying myself with writing literature: books, poetry, music, etc. I’m certain that I’ll get into reading more again in the future, after sustaining a satisfying profession. Seemingly, I have rarely found that I don’t have the time to do things. A close friend of mine casually refers to time efficiency as,  staying vigilant. The first book I wrote, I did not write it to try and get rich. I wrote it because I was overwhelmed with the logic of a concept I had conceived. As most notable authors do not publish their first book, I have other plans for the book of non-fiction and political fantasy. The significance of my mentioning a book I wrote that I may not attempt to get published is because it shows that some events or creations in life are a stepping stone or prelude for greater ideas and things to come.

I revived a wounded turtle. He's now healthy and in his own environment.

This is the shy turtle I found. I later discovered that he was wounded.

I was coming down the home stretch  on my last tenth of a mile out of two miles, and I saw a turtle. I picked him up, wondering why he was on the side of the road such a long ways from the creek and even further from the reservoir. I immediately bought an aquarium and water treatments for the turtle. The weather was hot and he would have certainly starved to death or got shriveled in the beaming sun. I found later that the turtle had no right fingers and only a nub there; it also only had a fraction of one of its hind legs’ toes. He was hesitant to eat and adapt to his new captivity. Yet when provided with food and a healthy and safe environment the turtle had a choice: starve yourself or step down from stubborn; he chose to live.

Be Ready When Opportunity Presents Itself

Eventually the athlete dries his face with a towel and exits his practice arena,and the crop transporter has his truck unloaded in another city. The truck driver came to an entirely new environment to complete his task, while the athlete never left a 100 yd. grid-iron.

Jogging was a time and effort investment toward a goal that I am preparing for.

Jogging was a time and effort investment toward a goal of which I am preparing.

Both tasks were completed for the benefit of the individual operator, and both took the same amount of time. The inevitable is that our generations will age, and the things we individually do with our time will dictate our future destinations. So regardless of your inherent social or financial status or class, we all count the same Hours in A Day.

Master Isom

Leave a comment

Filed under Aspiration, Time Management, Uncategorized, Writing

Leave a Reply

