The Answers in Front of Me

I’m thinking money. Funds. The fundraising of money to sustain a goal I have. I packed my planner and head to a bar I knew wouldn’t be in party mode in the early afternoon. That morning, I had just passed the mile mark on my jog and looked right at a glaring marquee above E-town’s, Historic State Theater. I caught a staff member headed into the building and took receipt of an invite inside to scope a venue for an event I have in mind. The sun not yet peeking, I still bled beads of sweat on the blue, thin carpet inside. I’d take the informative documents I collected and stuff them in my shoe, later to unravel them at a private table in Los Chalupas, my place of planning for the mid-day. I order a tallboy to supplement my exerts; perhaps the barley’d give me some protein. The complimentary chips and salsa certainly made for a nice filler.

I jotted, outlined, and literately brainstormed until I felt compelled to close my journal and check out the one of the best baseball players of my day, Derek Jeter, play his last MLB All-Star game, on the Latin-themed pub’s television. Now on the relax, a young man sits a couple of tables from me. Sports theory conversation, and general sports talk were volleyed back and forth, and eventually, I got acquainted with the Geologist based in Texas named, Nick. Me meeting a Geologist was far more intriguing than watching my favorite baseball team’s star player making his permanent exit from the game of baseball. Derek Jeter has established a book publishing company, perhaps he and I shall have much business to discuss in the near future.

Nick and I had sparse conversation over the distance of short tables and chairs, then exchanged phone numbers for when he would come back to Elizabethtown, I could show him some dining and entertainment spots. Before I left he and I talked about the job market, concerning career progression, and I noted from his experience, the importance of networking. I am to connect with a Geologist to swing golf clubs at the driving range of my local golf resort in less than a week! This is an exciting and big deal to me. As a business student, I get to further observe the microeconomics of a Geologist’s choice to study the lands, as infer upon the macroeconomics (concentrated) of Geologists’ necessary contributions to global progression and sustainment.

He and I acquaint with the parlor as I familiarize him with the parameters of our meeting place. I show him to the allocated driving range, and heave my vintage golf clubs out from my trunk; the irons chyme an amateurs tune on the way to the driving deck.

Interview with Nick the Geologist

I ask Nick why he wanted to become a Geologist. Was there a fascination that emanated from his youth?

Nick replied that he had taken a Geology course in college that he enjoyed. He stated directly in context, “[I] don’t want to be punching around the keys”. Field work is a major aspect for Geology professionals, and this Geologist did not find a cubicle job ideal.

Nick earned his Baccalaureate Degree from Cal State University and his Graduate Degree from Auburn University. After Nick mentioned that he was proclitive to a job such as a forest ranger (while in school) where he can be outside for occupation, I found that it was my safe assumption that his travels were a perk.

Nick’s Job of a Geologist

Nick was in Kentucky supervising an operation that consisted of “core drilling”. Core drilling is a common method for mineral exploration. Nick’s company, Lehigh Hanson, conduct mining in Kentucky for usable material. 50% of surface rocks in Kentucky are limestone (http://www.uky.edu/KGS/rocksmn/limestone.htm). The mission of Lehigh Hanson produces concrete, asphalt, aggregates, clay bricks and more. After Nick’s team extracts the limestone that had been mind for, the sample is tested. The testing process for limestone  adhere to ASTM Standards and follow four main steps:

  • LA Abrasion
  • ASCMC 128, 131
  • Sulfate Magnesium Test
  • Test for Specific Gravity

Perhaps the largest factor in determining that limestone (or other grounded, minable materials) are not usable is Alkalie Silicone Reaction or ASR. Nick elaborated that in concrete testing a “rock [could] take in too much water and break apart”. I infer that using material with a high Alkalie Silicone Reaction could result in a liability to the manufacturer if any damages were to occur to a person resulting from this faulty material’s usage in a structure. Geology.com reports that, in 2007 68% of all crushed rock in the United States was Limestone. Considering that large number, Nick’s tests are imperative to his company’s overall efficiency.

Wzzzzz. My ball jumps off of my four iron an hits the back side of a ground mesa on the driving range, about 170 yds out. Most shots were dead on. I didn’t exactly tell Nick that this is probably my best swinging day of this Golf season, so far; I left a little to imagination. Out comes the waitress with another pale ale for me and a large pizza Nick ordered. I sit back down to talk after zinging another ball toward my mark. Thinking Geologically for lateral conversation, I talked of the fact that the Asian Carp had been found in Kentucky. Asian Carp is a fish that reproduces more quickly than Kentucky Native species. This means that there are more Asian Carp eating more ‘food’ in the same ecosystems of our native fish. This has caused a lot of concerns for fisherman and Kentucky Wildlife enthusiast. I heard that the fish isn’t as good to eat as a primetime Bass or a Kentucky Catfish. In an effort to control this immigrant’s (Asian Carp) population, The Kentucky department of Fish and Wildlife hosted a commercial fishing tournament in Kentucky Lake and Barkley Lake on March 12-13, 2013.  The effort to “limit the number of Asian carp swimming in our waters”, relieved out Kentucky waters of over 82,953 pounds of Asian Carp (Source). That’s a lot of fish that could have been affecting our prided Kentucky waters.

A Chariting Guest

Nick an I were joined in company by a physical therapist named Rachel. She put a bug in our ear about her attempts to “cross the line” concerning opening doors of communication in [her] neighborhood.” Rachel spoke of when she had a lake/pond in her community in South Carolina that had been diminishing because of local inhabitant pollution. Her efforts were chartable:

  • Administer a neighborhood group to support the cause
  • solicit for  volunteers and grant writer
  • petition the city for money to help this effort

Rachel’s won a grant from the city for, City Beautification. The $1,500 helped buy equipment, feed her volunteers, and buy chemicals to clean the the barrened lake. She mentioned that when she left this South Carolina community that the support efforts had left with her.

Interview with Nick

Since I have not met a Geologist before Nick, I asked him about his connection with nature.

Nick gave me a leery look, yet a direct answer.  Nick uses good judgement when he’s in the field on the job. Nick will not blatantly kill an animal that isn’t harming him, yet, the jobs must get finished. He told me of a story when a D8 Caterpillar had run over a snake, while his company was clearing land. Whether or not the snake survived is unknown, but Nick tossed a tailed snaked out of the CAT’s path into the woodwork.

While another time, Nick told that he saw a large, poisonous black widow near a toolbox at his home. The Black Widow had to perish at the hands of the dominant species that day. Nick phrased in response to his discernment with wildlife and doing his job that, “I don’t kill things unless I have to.” This young man does well at what I call, administration discernment in regard to company goals.

Conclusion



Nick was now up to the tee-off deck. Not too impressed with my amateur set of clubs, he took a heavy swing that earned his ball a seat at the near 200yd mark, with a 4-iron. Impressive. He took a few more swings and finished with a straight shot that  I lost in the darkening sky, above some trees afar.

I think of how I feel about capitalism and the lesser evil that is, personnel expandability. Nick aspires to establish a career in off-shore drilling. There is big money in that. The Texas-based Geologists is not a fan nor a patron to fracking neither, suggesting that increased earthquakes are a proof of the practice’s harms. As I again prye into how he feels about capitalism in the free market, he replies, “To each his own”.  Surely, Nick is qualified enough to change careers, and having supervisory experience at mining sites will certainly help his chances of becoming an offshore drillingprofessional job. I know this transition of ground-rock mining to oil has been made before. So with Nick, the Geologist and his aspirations for ‘black gold’, he may one way or another acquire that house on the lake, that had been a haven of his youth.

The work-week night is getting late as some cornhole enthusiasts from Virginia, make their way onto the patio. Nick had to get to Home Depot before they closed. He had to pick up some acid. Nick educated, “Acid effervesces if its calcium carbonate”. I told him that my readers would surely know what that means.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Careers, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

